Margaret Smith, Librarian for Physical Sciences
Bobst Library, 5th Floor
Credentials:B.A. in Physics, Art & Art History; M.A. in Evolutionary Biology; M.S. in Library and Information Science
Advanced Google Searching
- Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
Guide to advanced search features in Google and to Google Scholar and Google Books.
- Last Updated Oct 17, 2014
This is a guide for finding books, articles, and data in chemistry. It also includes links to download ChemDraw and other software, and information about using the proxy prefix and bookmarklet for off-campus access.
Citation Style Guide
- Last Updated May 19, 2015
This guide provides citation and bibliography assistance. Includes APA, MLA, and Chicago style examples.
Coles Science Center
- Last Updated May 17, 2015
This is the virtual home of NYU Bobst Library's Coles Science Center.
Data & Statistics
- Last Updated May 18, 2015
A guide to help you find data and statistics.
Data Management Planning
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2015
This guide provides information and guidance for researchers about creating data management plans.
Data Sources for Physical and Earth Sciences
- Last Updated Aug 22, 2014
This is a guide to locating and downloading data in the physical and earth sciences.
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2014
How to use EndNote (for PC and Mac) to organize citations, format papers and create references and bibliographies.
Evolution, Complexity, Information Theory & Entropy
- Last Updated Jul 29, 2010
- Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
History of Science
- Last Updated Aug 5, 2010
This is a guide to finding books and articles related to the history of science and technology.
ITP The Interactive Telecommunications Program
- Last Updated May 19, 2015
A starting place for researchers; points to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in the Interactive Telecommunications Program.
Keeping Current with Chemistry
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2013
This is a guide for NYU students, faculty, and staff to keeping up with chemistry literature and news through email and RSS alerts made available by publishers, databases, news sources, and granting agencies.
- Last Updated May 15, 2015
This is a research guide for locating books, articles, and web resources related to topics in mathematics and the history of mathematics.
- Last Updated Jan 14, 2015
Learn how to use the bibliographic management tool Mendeley to organize citations, format bibliographies & citations, and more.
Open Source Software
- Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
This is a guide to locating books, articles, and conference proceedings related to physics, as well as chemical and physical properties. It also includes links to download ChemDraw and other software.
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2015
RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management tool. This guide provides help with RefWorks functionality.
- Last Updated Jun 16, 2015
This Guide offers an overview of scholarly metrics and the tools you can use to find them.
Software for Science at NYU NY
- Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
This is a guide to accessing scientific software packages on the NYU NY campus.
U.S. Census Data
- Last Updated Apr 27, 2015
A research guide for finding data and statistics from the United States Decennial Census and American Community Survey (ACS).
- Last Updated Jun 5, 2015
“Amino acid repeats cause extraordinary coding sequence variation in the social amoeba Dictyostelium discoideum” (2012). With C. Scala, X. Tian, N.J. Mehdiabadi, et al. PLOS ONE 7(9), e46150. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0046150
“Climate change and Pacific Islands: Indicators and impacts” (2012). With V.W. Keener, J. J. Marra, M.L. Finucane, and D. Spooner. Climate Change and Pacific Islands: Indicators and Impacts. Report for the 2012 Pacific Islands Regional Climate Assessment. Washington, DC: Island Press.
“Punctuated browse: The found poetry of the OPAC” (2012). Snakeskin, 184.
“Forum: Radical Teacher as an online and Open Access journal” (2012). Radical Teacher, 94, 11–12. doi: 10.1353/rdt.2012.0014
“Data management and ‘Responsible Conduct of Research’: A pilot educational partnership at NYU” (March 2014). Poster session with J. Conte (NYU) and S. Guss (NYU). ASIST&T Research Data Access & Preservation (RDAP) Summit, San Diego, CA.
“Online research management tools: Is this the next battlefield of the war against library disintermediation” (November 2013). With Eric Van Gordon (ProQuest). Charleston Conference, Charleston, SC.
“Integrating data management planning into a holistic service model” (February 2013). Poster session with J. Conte (NYU) and S. Guss (NYU). Research Data Symposium, Columbia University, New York, NY.
“Open Access publishing in science: Simple idea, complex reality” (October 2011). With J. Cirasella (Brooklyn College, CUNY). Open Science Summit, Mountain View, CA.
“When the signal is the noise: Social media and scholarly communication” (February 2011). Google/Mendeley event for Science and Technology Hub, Social Media Week, New York, NY.