This is the "Ulivi Library" page of the "NYU Florence - Ulivi Library & Online Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NYU Florence - Ulivi Library & Online Resources   Tags: florence, global, italian, library, study abroad, ulivi  

Ulivi Library info & NYU restricted and open access online resources relevant to the academic program in Florence.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2015 URL: http://nyu.v1.libguides.com/Florence Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ulivi Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Materials

NYU Florence Library catalog to search the academic library collection at Villa Ulivi, including audio- and videorecordings, as well as the historic Acton family book collection at Villa La Pietra.

NYU Libraries Homepage

 

Academics - NYU Florence

More information about academics at NYU Florence.


General Search

NYU students, faculty, and staff have full access to all the e-books, e-journals and databases available from NYU Libraries.

The titles below and in the boxes on the right are particularly relevant to the academic program in Florence.

  • Academic Video Online  
      
    Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search the American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, Education in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, Opera in Video, Theatre in Video, and World History in Video collections.
  • Archive Finder  
      
    Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • Artemis Primary Sources
  • British Library - Turning the Pages  
      
  • EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)  
      
    EDS encompasses the content of 400 databases and publishers, including: Alexander Street Press, American Psychological Association (PsychARTICLES, PsychCRITIQUES), Credo Reference, EBSCO (Humanities Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Business Source Complete, 86 others), Elsevier (ScienceDirect, Scopus), Gale Virtual Reference Library, HeinOnline, JSTOR, Springer, Thompson Reuters (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), and more. Source types include: academic (scholarly) journals, company profiles & reports, conference papers, government documents, dissertations, magazines, news, reports (education, health, industry, etc.), reviews, trade publications, working papers, images, audio, video and more.
  • DART-Europe E-theses Portal  
      
  • Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard
  • Dissertation Abstracts
    Indexes dissertations and some theses. Full-text is available for many dissertations and theses.
  • EThOS - Beta (British Library Electronic Theses Online Service)  
      
  • EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
  • Harvard Open Collections Program
  • Index Translationum  
      
  • Internet Public Library
  • ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
    A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to an archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Please note that for many titles, the most current issues are not available through Jstor.
  • Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web  
      
  • Literati by Credo  
      
    This resource is a user-centric platform which offers a refined search of 1,200+ citable librarian-approved reference titles. It provides interactive, multimedia learning tools, including tutorials and assessment surveys that address specific elements of Information Literacy from discipline-based perspectives. Additionally, it has the ability to save searches, entries and topic pages.
  • LOC: Digital Collections & Services
  • Manuscriptorium  
      
  • OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
  • OpenEdition  
      
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
  • SCOPUS
    Scopus is both an abstract and a citation database containing more than 41 million records for peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. The citation indexing is available from 1996 to the present, and the abstract indexing goes back as far as 1823. Disciplines covered include scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields with some coverage in the arts and humanities.
  • SpringerLink  
      
      Icon
    Providing with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
  • University Press Scholarship Online  
      
    University Press Scholarship Online Offers full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform.
  • Very Short Introductions
    Provide concise introductions to a wide range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
  • World Digital Library
 

Academic Reference and Reserve Collections at NYU Florence

The Ulivi Library contains about 5,000 volumes, including copies of required course textbooks and supplemental texts. In addition to books, library holdings feature course folders, an audio-visual collection and newspapers and magazines.

 

Villa Ulivi Library is a great place to study!

The library is a reserve reading room and non-circulating collection. Students are welcome to use the library as a study space and consult books on a reference-only basis. Adjacent to the library is a computer lab with two multifunction printers and scanners.

 

Search BobCat for Books and Articles

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

 

Database Search Tips

Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax. 

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not) 

mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.


mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.


mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’


(mother not father) and god searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’

 

Truncation: 

art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.

Wildcard: 

m?n searches for man and men. 

Citation Management Tools

Take notes, organize your research, import citations from electronic databases and catalogs, format your references in  standard styles (MLA, APA etc.) for bibliographies; insert footnotes and endnotes directly into your papers.

  • RefWorks

    RefWorks is licensed to everyone in the NYU community. A web-based program you can use to organize your research.

  • EndNote

    Software you load on your personal computer to organize your research. NYU community members may download a free copy of EndNote (current NYU NetID and password required). ]

  • EndNote Web
    Web-based version of Endnote, free to ISI Web of Knowledge subscribers (NYU Libraries subscribe to Web of Knowledge). Login or create an account . You don't need to own EndNote to use this. Folders may be shared online with other EndNote Web users. [more...]

  • Mendeley
    A  free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
  • EasyBib
    Web-based software featuring MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, parenthetical and footnote formatting, and the ability to save, share, and export citation lists.
  • ProCite
    Research and reference management software with similiar features to Refworks and Endote. NYU community members can get ProCite from the NYU Computer Bookstore at an academic discount.
  • Zotero
    Firefox extension designed for the Firefox browser (Mac and PC). Free online reference management and authoring.

How Do I Choose Between RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero?

Come to a Library Workshop or view this comparison chart.

      
     

    Location & Hours

    Located in the Villa Ulivi Academic Center, Ground Floor


    The Library is open:

    Monday-Thursday: 8:30AM to 9:00PM

    Friday: 9:00AM to 6:00PM

    Saturday and Sunday: 2:00PM to 8:00PM 

    (This schedule may vary due to holidays, or when classes are not in session).

     

    Contact Info

    Cristina Bellini

    Library Coordinator


    Tel. +390555007304

    Email cristina.bellini@nyu.edu

     

    Chat with a Librarian

    IM Service Hours

    NYU librarians are available to help via instant messaging chat, screenname: AskBobst. It will be helpful to mention that you are studying at NYU in Accra, for example. 

    Current Time in New York:

    You may also email us your question.

    Contact us via email, text us at 646-265-1342, or schedule an appointment.

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    E-Books Databases

    • ACLS Humanities Ebook
      Provides full-text access to 2200 searchable high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
    • Brill Online : Books and Journals  
        
      On this site you will find full lists of the E-Books and E-journals offered by Brill and be able to fully search the database. The texts included cover the Humanities, International Law and Biology.
    • Cambridge Books Online
      Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from Cambridge publishing program, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
    • Cambridge Collections Online
      Provides full-text access to Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series.
    • Digital Book Index  
        
    • Digital Public Library of America
    • eDuke Scholarly Frontlist Collection
      The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection includes between 100 and 120 new electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences.
    • Early European Books  
        
    • ebrary
      Search,read, highlight, and annotate more than 220,000 full-text books in subject areas that include the social sciences and humanities.
    • EServer.org  
        
    • Europeana: think Culture  
        
    • Free Digital Books from the NYU Bookstore
    • Gutenberg-e
    • Hathi Trust Digital Library
    • Internet Archive
    • LibriVox
    • OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
    • OpenEdition Books
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
      The complete texts of the 78 Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion
    • Oxford Scholarship Online  Icon
      Offers quality content you can trust, with instant and comprehensive coverage of over 8,000 titles in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
    • Palgrave Connect Ebooks
      This resource offers access to e-books, with a focus on the Humanities, Social Sciences and Business.
    • Past Masters  
        
      Past Masters Provides electronic editions of selected texts by philosophers and political economists. Includes; Abelard, Anselm, Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austin, Ayer, Bacon, Bentham:, Berkeley, Boyle, British Philosophy:1600-1900, Burney, Calvin, Chesterton, Collingwood, Continental Rationalists,The, Conway, Darwin, Davidson, Descartes, Dewey, 18th Century Women Playwrights, Eliot, Ferguson, Feuerbachs Sämmtliche Werke, Fichte:Werke, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, James, Henry, Johnson, Kant, Kierkegaard, Knox, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Maistre, Malthus, Marx and Engels, Nietzsches Werke, Ockham, Pascal, Peirce, Peirce, Plato, Political Philosophy:Machiavelli to Mill, Royce, Santayana, Schelling, Schopenhauer, Shelley (Mary), Sidgwick, Simmel, Abhandlungen, Werke, Smith, Spencer, Spinoza, Weber, Weil, Wittgenstein, Wollstonecraft.
    • Project Gutenberg  
        
    • Project Muse  
        
        Icon
      Provides full-text access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
    • Scribd
    • UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004  
        
    • University Press Scholarship Online  
        
      University Press Scholarship Online Offers full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform.
    • Very Short Introductions
      Provide concise introductions to a wide range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip