A Guide to Research in Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
NYU Libraries' online catalog.
This Research Guide addresses the broad discipline of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, which includes both literary and historical research. Related fields, such as Art History, Music, and the History of Science are treated by separate Research Guides, though reference will be made here to some of their resources.
See the tabs above to navigate among the various resource categories.
The following are just a few essential resources for identifying literature in Medieval and Renaissance Studies. A broader range of resources is provided in the tabs above.
Periodicals and books from Brepols
- Cambridge Histories Online
The link will take you to "Cambridge Histories Online." Either search for "medieval" or browse the "General History" list to find the volumes of the New Cambridge Medieval History.
- Columbia University's Ancient & Medieval Studies Reading Room
An essential resource for any NYU researcher seeking primary sources in the fields of Ancient & Medieval Studies.
- The Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The 13-volume encyclopedia is available in the 1st-floor Reference Center of Bobst Library at: D114 .D5 1982.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
- Library of Latin Texts Series A
The Library of Latin Texts provides full-text access to texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
- Medieval Bibliographies
The essential resource for identifying articles in the field of Medieval Studies.
- Middle English Teaching Resources Online
A "virtual classroom" that provides guided, interactive instruction on the linguistic, stylistic, and editorial features of some of late medieval England's greatest texts
- Mirabile: Digital Archives for Medieval Culture
A portal providing access to the extensive databases and journals produced by the Societa Internazionale per lo Studio de Medioevo Latino.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
This 15-volume work is available as an online resource and also in paper in the 1st-floor Reference Center in Bobst Library at BX841 .N44 1967.
- Patrologia Latina
Full-text access to the largest single collection of patristic texts.